GLUTEN FREE/CELIACS LÄRABAR®, über®, Jŏcalat®, and ALT® bars are Gluten Free. They have no gluten-containing ingredients, and we have manufacturing controls in place to ensure that there are no cross-contact concerns. We also periodically verify our practices using Gliadin gluten testing.
KOSHER All LÄRABAR products are certified Kosher by the Orthodox Union (symbolized by the "U" within a circle). Because both our chocolate chip flavors and our über® bars are produced in a facility that also produces chocolate containing dairy, they are classified as Kosher Dairy (symbolized by the "U" within a circle, followed by a "D").
LOW CARBOHYDRATE DIETS LÄRABAR products contain 23-32 grams of carbohydrates per bar.
NUT ALLERGIES We make the following products that contain peanuts: LÄRABAR Peanut Butter Cookie, Peanut Butter & Jelly, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip; über Roasted Nut Roll, Dark Chocolate Peanut; and ALT Cinnamon Apple Crisp, Peanut Butter Cookie, and Pumpkin Pie. If you have questions regarding specific nut allergies, please call 800-543-2147.
RAW DIET Many raw foodists enjoy our products as part of their diet. However, because there is no consistent definition for what can be labeled as “raw,” we have chosen to take the word raw off our label. LÄRABAR products are made by a simple process in which fruit, nuts, and spices are ground and mixed together. They are not baked or cooked. We use simple ingredients, as close to their natural state as possible. Practitioners of the Raw Diet should be aware that to ensure the safety of our products some of our nut ingredients are steamed or roasted and our few juice concentrates are pasteurized.
VEGAN/VEGETARIAN LÄRABAR, Jŏcalat, and ALT are made entirely from plant-based foods. Though the vast majority of chocolate chips in the world are made with dairy, soy or both, we specifically asked our supplier to provide us with chocolate chips which are Vegan—containing no dairy. While no dairy products are used to make our chocolate chips, they are made on a line which also produces chocolate chips made with dairy products. Due to the potential for cross-contact between the types of chocolate chips made at the facility, the chips we use may contain trace amounts of dairy from those other chips; thus we cannot claim that our chocolate chip flavor varieties are Vegan.
Due to the use of honey, über is not certified as Vegan.
SOY With the exception of our chocolate chip varieties, LÄRABAR bars do not contain soy or soy derivatives. We do not claim soy-free on the flavors containing chocolate chips because our chocolate chips are made on a line which also produces chips made with soy. Due to possible cross-contact, the chips we use may contain trace amounts of soy from other chips made at the facility.